Types of Gold

Gold is considered the premier precious metal and the go-to choice in jewelry. Gold jewelry primarily comes in yellow gold, rose gold, and white gold. The most popular karats in the U.S. are 10K, 14K and 18K gold.

What is the difference?

The standard measurement of gold is the karat, which is divided into 24 parts. Pure gold is 24 Karats, meaning 24 out of 24 parts are gold. Because pure gold is too soft to be used for jewelry, it is combined with other metal alloys to increase its strength. For instance, 14K gold is 14 parts gold and 10 parts other alloys, while 10K gold is more durable, with 10 parts gold to 14 parts other alloys.

Alloys used with yellow gold include copper and silver. Rose gold is created by combining gold with large amounts of copper. When creating white gold , pure gold is combined with copper, zinc and nickel (or palladium).

There are distinct advantages to each gold color. Placing a diamond with yellow color in a yellow gold setting can actually make the diamond appear whiter. White gold is a beautiful complement to exceptionally white and brilliant diamonds. The beautiful rose tone is highly popular right now, and is destined to stand the test of time.

Which type will look best on me?

The answer to this is, of course, a matter of personal preference. The only way to know for sure is to try on all types of gold and choose the color that best suits your skin tone and complements any gemstones that are part of the jewelry!


The information entered on this form will not be used to send unsolicited email and will not be shared with a third party.

Thank You!

Your email has been sent.