FREE SHIPPING on purchases over $50 (see shipping details)

(800) 527-8029

Diamond Cut & Shape

Diamond Cut & Shape

Of the Four Cs, a diamond's cut has the greatest influence on its fire, sparkle and brilliance. Cut not only refers to the shape of a diamond, but more importantly, to its proportions (how the diamond's angles and facets relate to one another), symmetry (the precision of its cut) and polish (the condition of your diamond?s surface).

All diamonds have five basic sections. The table is the uppermost facet, or the flat surface on the top of the diamond. The crown is the section of facets between the table and the midsection of the diamond. The girdle is the horizontal midsection and widest part of the diamond. The pavilion is the section of facets between the girdle and the bottom tip of the diamond. The culet is the bottom tip of the stone. A traditional round brilliant diamond consists of 58 facets: 33 in the crown and 25 in the pavilion.

In a well-proportioned and symmetrical diamond, light will enter and exit through the crown to the eye.

As to the shape of your diamond, it's really a matter of personal preference. Each has its individual advantages.

The most common shapes for engagement rings are round and princess-cut. But don?t be afraid to explore your options! Other shapes include cushion-cut, emerald-cut, pear, marquise, oval and heart-shaped. <Learn more about diamond shapes> link to 7.4.K_CD_T1_KM


The information entered on this form will not be used to send unsolicited email and will not be shared with a third party.

Thank You!

Your email has been sent.